Olivier Mellano

how we tried a new combination of notes to show the invisible

The project is like its creator: surprising, challenging, fascinating. Since the early 90s, Olivier Mellano has been multiplying musical adventures, favouring human and artistic encounters.
Composer, guitarist and above all a talented musical alchemist, he was instrumental in shaping the sound of Dominique A, Laetitia Shériff, and was invaluable to the much esteemed Bed. Hovering between hip-hop excursions (Psykick Lyrikah), solitary escapades (La Chair des Anges, and the recent MellaNoisEscape) and limitless acts (Mobiil) or movie-concerts, Olivier Mellano is often spotted where least expected.
Now, he is back with How We Tried..., a creation out of blinkers, a trilogy mixing acoustic, electric and electro/hip-hop music, voices, sounds and projected images.
Olivier Mellano presents this new work in three interpretations of the same musical theme, divided into four movements inviting us on a “metaphorical journey”, a one way ticket to discover the “act of creation”.
> Symphonic version : soprano singer Valérie Gabail and the Symphony Orchestra of Brittany, conducted by Jean Michel Lavoie (Los Angeles Philharmonic, Paris Orchester...) ;
> Electric version : 12 guitar players from the Pink Iced Club band, Regis Boulard on drums and Simon Huw Jones, singer from the cult English rock band And also the trees.
> Electro/hip-hop version with rappers MC dälek/IconAclass (New York), Black Sifichi and Arm.

Oliver Mellano website > www.oliviermellano.com

How we tried (teaser electric version)

How we tried (extract)

No Land (teaser)